Kim Logo




We are currently recruiting for the board of directors from among those qualified applicants who can commit their time and expertise as a volunteer to aid in guiding the important work KIM is undertaking to transform healthcare across the north. This work has never been more important than it is today with opportunities for truly transformative change guided by the inclusive governance structure.

KIM will be guided by a three-part governance structure:

  • Six First Nations caucuses supporting 23 northern First Nations in Manitoba
  • Keewatinohk Inniniw Okimowowin (Leadership) Council of 19 First Nations elected leaders, chosen by the six First Nations caucuses
  • A highly qualified, culturally proficient, and caring board of directors, selected by the Keewatinohk Inniniw Okimowin Council based on criteria outlined in the KIM bylaw

We encourage you to apply if you have two or more of the following qualifications:

  • Prior board experience with a positive record of accomplishment, and a clear understanding of a board’s legal and fiduciary responsibilities (board experience)
  • Knowledge of or experience working with or within First Nations, federal and provincial health systems, programs, and services (health systems experience)
  • Proven success running a large operation or working at a senior management level and managing organizational change and development (business/management/leadership experience)
  • Experience in tripartite processes, building and maintaining successful partnerships with governments and other organizations, managing competing priorities amongst diverse partners and stakeholders, strategic planning, health planning, financial planning, or community development (experience with strategic planning, complex partnership development, and multi-level negotiations)
  • Designated professional (i.e. health care practitioner or administrator, legal, finance, business)

All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply however, please note that preference shall be given first to qualified members of the First Nations represented by the 6 Regional Caucuses.

A Director’s term of office shall not exceed 3 years.

Board meetings shall be held no less than every 2 months.

Additional Information

For greater certainty:

This competition is open to First Nations health directors, program managers and administrators who are qualified, as well as all others who meet the qualifications in Manitoba.

This competition is closed to elected First Nation Chiefs or Councilors; elected officials of the federal government, the provincial government, or a city or municipality; and employees of KIM, or MKO as its founding organization.

How to apply

Interested candidates should apply in writing on or before September 14, 2021, by sending a letter of interest along with a current CV/resume, and, if available, a letter of support to

KIM Board of Directors Selection Committee

[email protected]

All applicants will be screened and only those selected for further consideration will be notified.

Board selection will be made and announced by the Keewatinohk Inniniw Okimowin Council during KIM’s first Annual General Meeting to be held on October 20-21, 2021, in Opaskwayak Cree Nation.

About the KIM Governance Structure

The KIM Caucuses

KIM will seek ways to support caucus-identified health plans and priorities with respect to KIM’s overall mission and objectives, as outlined in the KIM bylaw

What is a caucus?

  • a grouping based on combined population sizes with respect to the existing structures of Tribal Councils and First Nations unaffiliated with a Tribal Council (includes on and off reserve populations)
  • there are currently 6 caucuses representing 23 First Nation communities